matti's

Peer community in Registered Reports

So this is promising: Peer Community In Registered Reports is an online community/service that offers "Free and transparent pre- and post-study recommendations across research fields".

As soon as I heard of this I read their information pages and signed up as a recommender. "Recommenders" are basically editors, and their task is to coordinate peer-reviews to submitted stage 1 registered reports. (I have not yet had the time to actually edit any submissions!)

I don't always do registered reports, but when I do, I do them through PCI: RR meme

After a piece of work has been peer-reviewed through PCI: RR, authors are free to submit their peer-reviewed work to wherever they choose. Many journals already accept the PCI: RR review stamp of approval, and don't conduct any further review on such papers.

OR, authors can work to liberate science from BS and not submit the paper anywhere (except a preprint server obv). Just put a "peer-reviewed" watermark in a corner of the PDF and link to the always-open peer-review itself. Done and done!

#publishing #science